Revolution Resolutions

Health is the Greatest Gift, Contentment the greatest wealth, faithfulness the best relationship –

Buddha

It has been an eventful week in the news. The World to me, as I’m sure it does to so many, seems Unsettled, Unsure, Intolerant, Ignorant, Cruel, Sad and Baffling. Baffling, not because it is Profound but because it is Wrong. Progress that celebrates Victory over Nature, Domination over the Suppressed, Discrimination against Difference, Unfairness toward Free Speech, Injustice against the Silenced and Inequality for All Beings is NOT Progress.

We seem to live in a world overly defined by fear, conflict, individualism and materialism…….

But Do we? Is this a world overly defined as such by much of the media?

Is this description too limited in its expression of reality of what it is to be human, of our connections to others, the diversity of the lives we live,  our inner and outer experiences and of the possibilities we know in our hearts?

Isn’t what’s important and defining, the things we all share: Love, Unity and Togetherness

This week may have made our Collective situation seem hopeless, but each of us, as individuals can contribute so much if we put our minds to it.

I read this recently which, perhaps sums up where the world is and why we should NEVER give up and ALWAYS have Hope:

The avarice of survival’s ugly colours have been exposed in the rich of the world’s preference to populate offshore funds in tax havens rather than contribute to the building blocks of society – Welfare, Education, Health Care, Preservation of Natural Resources and so on – leaving this responsibility to the less affluent and the poor’s meagre pockets. This is more than a sociopathic disconnection from our own shared humanity, it is also the abnegation or our deep interconnection with all species. Our political elite and their dark practices are coming to light.

There have always been people throughout history who have turned their backs on fear-driven materialism, ideologies of war and unconscionable greed. We have recognised them as prophets, avatars and great leaders. The next evolutionary step for humanity is to debunk the myth of aggression and competition being the imperative of survival. The next step is to haul our maladapted psychologies out of the muddy waters of fear and austerity and into a lighter more expansive realm of compassion. This is a powerful response in a brutal world. It comes from our deep understanding of our shared humanity and from our place in the web of all species.”

Maddy Hartland – Permaculture Magazine Editor.

Empathy not Individuality is key to Humanity  and Empathy is actually the Essence of a life that contributes to Civil Society.

The Most Powerful Force ever known on this Planet is Human Cooperation – a Force for Construction and Destruction

Johnathan Haidt,  Social Psychologist

Therefore, with Cooperation and Determination, we need to look to the Inspiring examples of people making a difference in their own way, in their own patch because they give us a glimpse that something else is possible. They provide a new reference point that ups the bar when considering what we might do to make a change in our own lives. We can look for, and notice responses that are Creative, Constructive and Inspired because Inspiration is an energy we be open to and a direction we can move in.

The most Common Way People give up their Power is by thinking they don’t have Any.

Alice Walker, African/American Author of the Colour Purple.

Revolutions in Consciousness, on both Personal and Wider Scales are happening constantly and when we feel despair at what we see happening in the world, recognising that there are deeper seeds of positive change happening can only serve to reassure us and give us the confidence we need to make our own difference however we can.

The most difficult thing is the decision to act. The rest is merely tenacity. The fears are paper tigers. You can do anything you decide to do. You can act to change and control your life and the procedure. The process is its own reward

Amelia Earhart

This blog is my personal musings and this post is a classic example of those! What I  have written above reflects, I believe, based on what I have heard and read, what many people are feeling and fearing. However, bitter experience in my campaigning for Non-Human Animal Rights and Advocating for people I have supported, has shown me that I cannot change the world but I can create ripples which have positive consequences.

As I alluded to in my last post, I have not achieved what I set out to, this year, although I have “tried out” several voluntary positions which haven’t worked out, mainly due to time (fitting them around family and work) and energy (not having enough after family and work!)

However, as 2016 draws to a close, I feel I have found at least one constant way I am making a difference every month which fits in with my life that I love and which I will be talking about in my next post.

I have also committed to being involved in one youth project next year which I know will bring a lot of personal fulfilment and enjoyment, but also make a difference to that community.

Commitment  is an Act, not a Word

Jean-Paul Sartre, Philosopher

Alongside those two roles, I never stop campaigning in my own way to raise awareness on the rights of our Non-Human Friends and Neighbours although I could do so much more, I Need  to do so much more and I am Determined to do so much more! It’s just that blooming time thing which gets in the way, and perhaps, confidence and energy levels!

In 2017, I need to master the act of Determination which I know will enable me to keep moving forward on my chosen path:

Never Ever giving up; Falling down 9 times and Getting up 10, because I Know that by taking each step based on my own Commitments and Conviction, Nothing should be able to stop me, even Tiredness and Time!

I aspire to do even More with my Life, I know I Can and am Capable of it if I put my mind to it. As I wrote many times in my last post, I seek to follow the examples of the Inspirational People I know and have known and create a Life that is Authentically Me, One that Lights me Up and Nourishes me in every way even if I do get Tired!

I hope and believe I have started that journey but I am not finished and trust I have some way to go. I want to be a vehicle for change and cultivate a life that feeds my soul.

Life is either a Daring Adventure or Nothing at all.

Helen Keller

When we’re Happy, when we do the things that fill our Hearts and make us Smile, we have more to give back to the people in our lives. I know from True, Lived Experience that when we live a life Aligned with our Passions, we have more Energy, Identity and Self Worth. Our lives are Richer. When we are Fulfilled and Happy, we radiate that out to Everyone we meet, Positively impacting many more lives than we could imagine and that’s exactly what I am striving for.

A smile cost nothing, but gives much.

It enriches those who receive, without making poorer those who give. It takes but a moment, but the memory of it sometimes lasts forever. None is so rich or mighty that he can get along without it, and none is so poor but that he can be made rich by it. A smile creates happiness in the home, fosters good will in business, and is the countersign of friendship. It brings rest to the weary, cheer to the discouraged, sunshine to the sad, and is nature’s best antidote for trouble. Yet it cannot be bought, begged, borrowed, or stolen, for it is something that is of no value to anyone until it is given away. Some people are too tired to give you a smile. Give them one of yours, as none needs a smile so much as he who has no more to give.

Anonymous

Making one person Smile Can Change the World; Maybe not the Whole World, but THEIR World. Start Small. Start Now.

And That Sums up this post Perfectly!

Earth’s Blessings to any Readers!

VeganCuckoo (Formally known as Vegan Believer!) Jx

Leave a Reply

